First of all, what is a Gluten Free Diet? Gluten is the protein part of wheat, rye, barley, and other grains of that sort. There are some people that can't tolerate gluten when it comes in contact with the small intestine.
It is not easy to stay consistent with a gluten free diet because there are so many different kinds of foods out there that uses grains in there ingredients.
Even so, it is difficult and frustrating trying to find out if gluten is incorporated into a food's ingredient. If you cook something that looks like it will never have gluten in it, you can be eating it without even knowing it.
Here are certain guidelines concerning gluten
Milk & milk products
whole, low fat, skim, dry, evaporated, or condensed milk; buttermilk; cream; whipping cream; Velveeta cheese food; American cheese; all aged cheeses, such as Cheddar, Swiss, Edam, and Parmesan
Fats & oils
butter,margarine, vegetable oil, shortening, lard
tea, carbonated beverages (except root beer), fruit juices, mineral and carbonated waters, wines, instant or ground coffee
fresh, frozen, or canned vegetables; white and sweet potatoes; yams
salt, pepper, herbs, flavored extracts, food coloring, cloves, ginger, nutmeg, cinnamon, bicarbonate of soda, baking powder, cream of tartar, monosodium glutamate
Meat or meat substitutes
100% meat (no grain additives); seafood; poultry (breaded with pure cornmeal, potato flour, or rice flour); peanut butter; eggs; dried beans or peas; pork
gluten-free soy sauce, distilled white vinegar, olives, pickles, relish, ketchup
Snacks & desserts
brown and white sugar, rennet, fruit whips, gelatin, jelly, jam, honey, molasses, pure cocoa, fruit ice, carob
only allowed ingredients
Breads & grains
cream of rice; cornmeal; hominy; rice; wild rice; gluten-free noodles; rice wafers; pure corn tortillas; specially prepared breads made with corn, rice, potato, soybean, tapioca arrowroot, carob, buckwheat, millet, amaranth and quinoa flour
plain, fresh, frozen, canned, or dried fruit; all fruit juices